LSN_ USA_Canada_Flages          Lake Superior News   Lake Superor Regional News

                   Visit our Old website

Kloosterhuis returns as chair to DSSAB board

Lucy Kloosterhuis, Mayor of the Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge, Lake Superior News

THUNDER BAY, Ontario  —  January 16, 2019  (LSN) Lucy Kloosterhuis, Mayor of the Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge, returns as the Board Chair, having previously assumed that role in January 2018. New Vice-Chair Kim Brown, representative for the Territories without Municipal Organization (TWOMO), is also an experienced Board member having served a prior term on TBDSSAB from 2015 to 2018. 

“TBDSSAB administration is pleased to draw such strong and experienced leadership,” said TBDSSAB CAO Bill Bradica. “Our staff, clients, and tenants will certainly benefit from the continued leadership and support of the Board in 2019.”


“On behalf of the Board, I would like to welcome Kim Brown as the new Vice-Chair and thank outgoing Vice-Chair Mark Figliomeni for his leadership and dedication,” said returning Chair Lucy Kloosterhuis. “We look forward to working with the Board and Mr. Bradica in fulfilling the strategic objectives of TBDSSAB.”


Established by Provincial legislation in 1999, The District of Thunder Bay Social Services Administration Board (TBDSSAB) is responsible for the administration and delivery of three legislated social services in the District of Thunder Bay: Ontario Works, Social Housing, and Child Care and Early Years. Guided by a Board of Directors comprised of elected representatives from throughout the District, TBDSSAB’s vision is to provide quality services within the context of a commitment to social justice and recognition of people’s potential to achieve self-sufficiency.



- 30 -


Board of Directors

The TBDSSAB Board of Directors consists of fourteen Members who are elected officials.  Board members are chosen by their own municipal councils to serve on the Board to represent areas defined in the District Social Services Administration Board Act, Reg 278/98 as amended by O. Reg 109.17.   

Board members are required to abide by a Code of Conduct to ensure transparency, integrity and fairness in all decision-making.

Our current Board Members are:

Albert Aiello – City of Thunder Bay
Kim Brown – Territory Without Municipal Organization
Shelby Ch’ng – City of Thunder Bay
Jody Davis, Township of Terrace Bay
Andrew Foulds – City of Thunder Bay
James Foulds – Township of Nipigon
Brian Hamilton – City of Thunder Bay
Kevin Holland – Township of Conmee
Rebecca Johnson – City of Thunder Bay
Lucy Kloosterhuis – Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge
Ray Lake – Town of Marathon
Elaine Mannisto – Municipality of Greenstone
Aldo Ruberto – City of Thunder Bay
Wendy Wright – Township of Gillies




Subscribe to Lake Superior mailing list to get the latest News/Events, delivered directly to your inbox 

*indicates required
Email Format

We will not share your information with other organizations